2021 Scholarship Winners

2021 Scholarship Winners

The SECU MD Foundation Scholarship Program awarded $115,000 in scholarships to 28 SECU members spanning communities across the state who will be attending a trade, technical school, college or university for the fall 2021 semester.

In recognition of the Scholarship Program’s 15th anniversary, the program awarded $115,000 in scholarships for the 2021–22 academic year. The program exemplifies SECU’s ongoing commitment to empower access to education.

“Our Scholarship Program is built on the foundational tenet that cost shouldn’t serve as a barrier to pursuing one’s dreams,” said Becky Smith, EVP and Chief Strategy & Marketing Officer for SECU Maryland and Executive Director of the SECU MD Foundation. “Instead, this is a bright opportunity that opens doors for the next generation of changemakers.”

While recipients enjoyed a virtual celebration in 2020 due to the necessary safety precautions of the pandemic, the SECU MD Foundation celebrated this year’s winners in a drive-thru celebration with fanfare at the corporate office.

Congratulations to all our 2021 Scholarship Recipients!

Scholarship Recipient College/University
Aisha Asare (grand prize winner) University of Maryland, Global Campus
Christina Asare Georgetown University School of Medicine
Ayomide Awobajo University of Maryland, College Park
Simon Barn University of Maryland, College Park
Jaden Buszinski Berklee College of Music
Megan Chang University of Maryland, College Park
Morgan Edwards Bowdoin College
Joy Frimpong Emory University
Mahelet Gennene American University
Lenora Knowles University of Maryland, College Park
Assiata Kamagate University of Rochester
Thomas Long University of Strathclyde
Ericka Lowery Community College of Baltimore County
Kwankou Mbayu University of Maryland, Global Campus
Tyliah McDonald University of Maryland, College Park
Keerthana Merugu Virginia Commonwealth University
Grant Mobley American University
Brooke Nixon Christopher Newport University
Ngeri Nachi University of Maryland, Baltimore County
Anna Petersen University of Maryland, College Park
Uchechi Roxo Radford University
Juan Sebastian (grand prize winner) Salisbury University
Samantha Steinberg University of Delaware
Benjamin Tellie (grand prize winner) George Washington University
Zachary Wandalowski University of Maryland, College Park
Annina Wells Goucher College
Alexis White Louisiana State University
Jenna Wright Towson University

Congratulations to our 2021 Winners!