2022 Scholarship Winners

2022 Scholarship Winners

SECU MD Foundation, the philanthropic arm of Maryland’s largest state-chartered credit union – SECU, announced its 2022 Scholarship Recipients.

In an effort to further education and provide a brighter future for its members, the SECU MD Foundation Scholarship Program awarded $115,000 in scholarships to 27 SECU members spanning communities across the state who will be attending a trade or technical school, college or university for the Fall 2022 semester for either undergraduate or post-graduate work.

Of the 27 recipients, four Grand Prize Winners were identified for their outstanding commitment to their communities and passion for making the world a better place. Each Grand Prize Winner received $5,000 in scholarships in memory of Donald Tynes, Sr., SECU’s longest-serving Board member who passed away in March 2022. In honor of his legacy, mentorship and philanthropy, each of the Grand Prize Winners will also receive a donation on behalf of the SECU MD Foundation that will be gifted to a Maryland nonprofit of their choice.

The SECU MD Foundation recognized this year’s winners at an award celebration at SECU’s headquarters in Linthicum Heights, Maryland, on Tuesday, June 28.

Congratulations to all our 2022 Scholarship Recipients!

Oluwatomilade Akinyelu Univ. of MI, Ann Arbor
Peter Banyas Duke University
Ruby-Louise Braxton Duke University
Kelly Chen Johns Hopkins University
Devlin Chrystal Univ. of MD, Balt. Co.
Tyler Cullum Univ. of MD, College Park
Lucero Espinal (Grand Prize Winner) Western Governors Univ.
Zachary Essamuah Stevenson University
Theodosia Fobella Univ. of MD, Baltimore
Terra Greene Mississippi State University
Kayla Griffith Univ. of MO
Daniel He Northwestern University
Roslyn Kelly Liberty University
Gavin Kihn Towson University
Kelli Moreno Marywood University
Rebecca Namubiru Howard Community College
Imani Neal Stevenson University
Brennan Nicholas Saint Louis University
Olabisi Omoniyi-Alake Univ. of MD, College Park
Deanna Parker (Grand Prize Winner) Chesapeake College
Luke Peyton (Grand Prize Winner) Messiah University
Malachi Proctor Delaware State University
Jarrell Rice Morgan State University
Monaye Rikard Morgan State University
Faith Seawell Coppin State University
Tamarah Thompson MA College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences
Paris Walker (Grand Prize Winner) Wright State University